top of page

The Adventures of Tintin: King Ottokar's Sceptre Book Review

Initially, when I first read King Ottokar's Sceptre, I felt underwhelmed, with its strong similarity to The Broken Ear, but upon revisiting it, I found it superior to the Broken Ear. King Ottokar's Sceptre blends an intricate plot to remove a king from his rightful throne and beautiful art to create one of the best Tintin experiences in the series.

King Ottokar's Sceptre has a much higher stakes, unlike the Broken Ear which centered around retrieving a stolen artifact. Here, the artifact that's needed has a much more impactful and you really grow to attach and engross yourself in the story and the hunt. In fact, in multiple sequences, I found myself rooting wildly for Tintin and Snowy, which was something that rarely happened in the series. While there are many positives to this Tintin tale, there are some flaws. The biggest downside is its originality. While I prefer this story over The Broken Ear, this story was published later so the blame fall on this one. There are too many similarities between the two stories that it sometimes becomes what I most remember about the story. Still, King Ottokar's Sceptre is an enjoyable read, engrossing a rich plot with memorable and likable characters. Score: 8.6 out of 10.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page